ramblings from the noisedoctor

August 10, 2006

what did you watch during breakfast?

Filed under: gardening, wildlife — noisedoctor @ 7:13 am

CNN? ESPN? Not me. I got a live show just outside my kitchen window. I got to watch a male Ruby-Throated Hummingbird.

If you’re wondering how I knew he was a male, I got out my binoculars and could clearly see under his belly… oh come on now! Males have red on their throat.

Anyway… I spotted him sitting on the shepherd’s hook that holds a hummingbird feeder in my back yard. In my experience, it’s rare to see them just sitting. So, I stood and watched as he would fly down to the feeder, get a drink, then fly back to his perch. He would dart down to the flowers below (particularly the globe thistle) and eat a bit. He also followed a female hummingbird after she got a drink at the feeder, but he soon returned to his perch.

One thing made me laugh. Most birds, when wanting to change the direction they face on a perch, just do a little fancy footwork to turn around. Not this guy. He would just fly up in the air about a foot over the perch and then settle back down facing the other direction.

I love watching hummingbirds. Today was a unique event and is making me feel really blessed. God is wickedly awesomely creative!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

