ramblings from the noisedoctor

September 15, 2006

I’d be a fool

Filed under: Christianity — noisedoctor @ 9:51 am

How’s it going? How you doing? How are you?

It seems like those are the most common greetings you get from people, right? Sure, there some folks that say “Howdy” or “Hey” or something similar. And most of the time people say these questions with no real interest in hearing the answer.

So, a few months ago I adopted a new response to those questions. I answer: “I’d be a fool to complain.” I’ve gotten some blank stares, some perturbed looks, and, thankfully more often than not, some positive responses to my statement.

I like my response because it works for two reasons:

  1. I would be foolish to complain in light of all the many blessings God has given me. There is so much for me to be thankful for. My salvation, my relationship with Him, my wife, my family, my job, my house, my garden, etc. How could I have any justification to complain about anything with the deck stacked so completely in my favor. I’d be a fool to miss that and complain about something.
  2. Were there something unfortunate going on or something bothering me, I’d still be a fool to complain about it. Because, if you think about it, what would complaining really get me? What does complaining ever accomplish? Nothing. It’s a complete waste of time and energy. So, it would be foolish for me to waste any effort complaining.

I know it all might sound a little corny. I haven’t yet had anyone ask me why I said that or give me a real opportunity to share anything deeper with them. I have had a few people say, “Well, that’s the truth.” I’m certainly not expecting my little phrase to become the next cool phrase to sweep the nation. It’s just something that God put on my mind to say instead of the usual “I’m okay” sort of response to people.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

