ramblings from the noisedoctor

December 13, 2006

is this a real problem for the parents?

Filed under: useless junk — noisedoctor @ 9:02 am

Just spotted a story on Yahoo news about a teacher in Virginia who was suspended for his side business outside the classroom. Or, I guess I could say, a “back side” business. He creates and sells paintings he creates by putting paint on his posterior and pressing against the canvas and calls himself the “butt-printing artist.”

So, the school district suspended him from his job as a high school art teacher.

Now, if the guy wanted to demonstrate his painting in class, that might be a good reason for firing him. Or maybe if he was a performance artist and made the paintings our in public. Or, maybe even if he videotaped himself creating the art and posted the clips to youtube. But, is this really a problem?

I don’t have any kids (yet, hopefully) but… I can’t think this would really bother me if I were a parent. I think this would actually get his kids to think of art class as something a little more practical or even “cool.” I hated art class in high school. If I had a teacher that did this sort of thing, it might have not been so bad.

Okay, I’ve held off long enough and it has to be said. Is this the crack problem we really need to be concerned about?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

