ramblings from the noisedoctor

December 19, 2006

remembering Adam’s curse

Filed under: Christianity, gardening — noisedoctor @ 11:13 am

I was outside trying to do a little weeding in the garden. I was really distracted all fall and didn’t take care of the weeds. So, there’s quite an infestation of daisies (why did I plant daisies along the garden?!?) that needs to be eradicated before they get any bigger. And, I discovered that some crown vetch somehow established in part of the garden. It’s one of those things that spreads rapidly by sending out roots. I was really frustrated pulling out bunches of crown vetch roots and hoping that I can eradicate them before they become a horrible problem.

As I was doing that, I thought of the curse God laid in Genesis 3:

17 To Adam he said, “Because you listened to your wife and ate from the tree about which I commanded you, ‘You must not eat of it,’
“Cursed is the ground because of you;
through painful toil you will eat of it
all the days of your life.

18 It will produce thorns and thistles for you,
and you will eat the plants of the field.

19 By the sweat of your brow
you will eat your food
until you return to the ground,
since from it you were taken;
for dust you are
and to dust you will return.”

Then I found this story this morning. It talks about a herbicide-resistant weed that is threatening to affect the cotton industry.

So I guess I shouldn’t be all that surprised that I have to battle weeds in the garden. It certainly doesn’t make my job any easier, but in a sense, it’s not my fault, right? Okay, I’m kidding on that one.

We gardeners always wish we wouldn’t have to worry about weeds in the garden. Yet God promised us that we will.

I have been thinking that I (and I assume most people) like to think about God’s promises of blessing. But, it got me thinking today that I shouldn’t ignore “unpleasant” promises or predictions God has made. One that came to mind is John 15:20: “Remember the words I spoke to you: ‘No servant is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. If they obeyed my teaching, they will obey yours also.”

Not exactly common thoughts for the week before Christmas. But, I’m not exactly “common” now am I 😉

1 Comment »

  1. “uncommon” ain’t the half of it. You’ve already established that you don’t exist. Of course, neither do I.

    Comment by Brendt — December 19, 2006 @ 11:48 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

