ramblings from the noisedoctor

February 7, 2007

nerds://A Musical Software Satire

Filed under: geeky stuff, humor — noisedoctor @ 4:08 pm

A couple weeks ago, my Dad took me out for a “guys night out” (since my wife and mother both decided they probably wouldn’t care for the show) in celebration of my birthday. My mother had spotted an ad for nerds://A Musical Software Satire. It’s a musical spoof of the early days of the personal computer revolution–specifically at Steve Jobs and Bill Gates.

We went to the first preview performance (one week before opening). We took the train down to Philadelphia and had dinner at a tiny little diner a few blocks from the theatre. After the show, we had desert at the same diner as we waited for the next train home–since we missed the 10:15 train and had to wait until 12:15. The kicker of the train ride was the train breaking down on the way home for 20 minutes, getting us home around 2:00 AM, instead of the scheduled 1:30 AM.

I’m really glad my wife chose not to go. She wouldn’t have gotten much of the humor at all. My Dad and I laughed our tails off. It was cleverly written and the performance was pretty good for their first show. If you’re a geek like me, it’s worth the time to see it.

The major surprise of the evening was a “wardrobe malfunction.” At one point, one of the female characters is supposed to pull down Bill Gates’ pants to expose his underoos. Let’s just say that she got a little overzealous and the underoos went along for the ride. I’m hoping that no other audiences will be blessed with that extra excitement.

1 Comment »

  1. The blog says that the show will live on past Philly. I hope that includes a stop down here.

    Comment by Brendt — March 16, 2007 @ 2:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

