ramblings from the noisedoctor

February 12, 2009

bad bunny!

Filed under: lame companies, useless junk — Tags: , , — noisedoctor @ 11:37 am

Here’s something I have been meaning to post for a while. Last year, after my son was born, we started using all sorts of toys/gadgets/gizmos to entertain the little guy–all of which eat up batteries. I dislike standard batteries and prefer to use rechargeable ones when possible. I had a good stock of AA and AAA rechargeable batteries. I did not, however, have any D batteries. My son loved a battery-powered swing and I wanted to get some rechargeables for it.

So, I snagged some Energizer rechargeable D batteries at a local store. I’ve been pleased with their AA and AAA ones. But, thankfully, when I got home I decided to comparison shop and make sure I wasn’t overpaying too significantly. One of the first things I hit was at Amazon, and the reviews there pointed me to something that was right on the label, but I neglected to notice and process it correctly.

It clearly says 2500mAh. Wow. That sounds like a lot, right? Not really, especially if you realize that the Energizer AA rechargeable batteries rate at 2450mAh. Also note that the price for 2 D batteries is roughly the price of 4 AA batteries.

What does that mean? It means that they took an AA rechargeable and stuck it inside a big chunk of plastic and sell it for twice the money–hoping people will be (like I almost was) dumb enough to fall for it.

Bad bunny! You should be ashamed of yourself.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

